Youth Icon Awards Grand Finale 2012

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So, throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbour. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” Mark Twain

‘Mark Stone Laitflang’ after having taken much inspiration from the above quote, he has set himself a bar to pull it off and yes! His results for such an attempt was seen fruitful and have swoon and captivated the minds of the masses of our town Shillong. Here we are talking about the sole initiative that Avenues a property of Mr. Stone has undertaken single handedly and made it a grand success.
The ‘Youth Icon Awards’ is a forerunner award show that enlisted a dynamic range of personalities and inspiring youths of our state (Meghalaya).

The ‘Youth Icon Awards’ had re-defined the life spectacle of the personalities who were felicitated as unsung heroes on the 2nd October at the Shri. Aurobindo Auditorium Hall. The award ceremony was organized not to re-assure the fame of the personalities involved. But it is targeted to be a medium of inspiring the upcoming generations through a platform that showcases the tremendous deeds that these inspiring souls have brought forth to the table.

On the award day the task to get the crowd in the mood was left to the hands of the Aroha Choir, they played a penultimate set and had everyone in the audience impressed. Accompanying them to prove the all in all elegance of the night was Daniel Syiem’s Fashion  model who escorted every award winning candidate to the podium. Also, we did see the presence of the esteem panel that included Dr.  Ananya S Guha (Director IGNOU,IVET, Poet, Guide administrator par excellence), Robert G lyngdoh (Chairman, Poet, Writer, Musician, Ex – Politician), Patricia Mukhim (Editor Shillong Times, Writer, Columnist, Speaker, State Icon), Dr. Chrysanthemum Massar (Principal Lady Keane College, teacher, Scholar, Trailblazer) Dr. Glenn Kharkongor (Vice chancellor, MLCU, Educationist,  Visionary, Change agent), Toki Blah (President ICARE, Activist, Writer, Public Icon), David Laitphlang (President Shillong Press Club,
Trouble Shooter, Journalist and Media Icon) and our Honorable Chief Minister Dr. Mukul Sangma.

Here is the complete list of winner’s at the ‘Youth Icon Awards’ 2012.

Award Category: Citizen Jouranlism – Winner (Dominic Wankhar).

Award Category: Media – Winner (Raphael Warjri).

Award Category: Visual Arts – Winner ( L) (Mainul Haque Barbhuiya).

Award Category: Tradition & Culture – Winner (Vidyanisth Marak).

Award Category: Eco – Tourism – Winner (Dennis Ryan).

Award Category: Conservation – Winner (Dipu Marak)

Award Category: Creative & performing arts – Winner (Benedict Hynniewta)

Award Category: Music Group – Winner (Afflatus)

Award Category: Creative & performing arts – Winner (Marding Passah)

Award Category: Social work – Winner (Dr. Rica Lamare)

Award Category: Advocacy – Winner (Daniel Ingty)

Award Category: Administration & Education – Winner (Carmo Narorha)

Award Category: Education – Winner (Br. Eric S D’Souza)

Award winner, for public voting and Youth Icon of the year 2012 – Junestar Kahrbuli.

Chameleon Press Staff

Facebook Twitter YouTube